About us

Honoring the bravery of those who protect and serve.

What began as an awards program in 1946 has now evolved into the creation of an independent, charitable organization to establish Wisconsin’s only museum devoted to memorializing our state’s law enforcement heroes and the invaluable public service they provide.

Registered with the Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions and the United States Internal Revenue Service as a not-for-profit charitable entity, the Wisconsin Law Enforcement Museum of Valor will promote public interest, awareness, knowledge, and education about the law enforcement profession by sharing the historical accounts of bravery that the Wisconsin Professional Police Association began recognizing so many years ago, in addition to those that the Museum’s Board of Trustees will select every year hereafter.

“It is important to recognize the law enforcement community’s outstanding acts of courage, bravery, fidelity, and devotion to duty. Their stories show what the police officers of the State of Wisconsin are made of.”
William R. Hansen
Fr. Racine Police Officer

Hansen was shot twice during a 1933 bank robbery by John Dillinger and his gang. He later served as the chief of the Racine Police Department from 1948-1951.


Jim Palmer, Chief Executive Officer

Jim Palmer is responsible for the development, promotion, and operations of the Museum of Valor. Jim has nearly 20 years of experience working with the law enforcement community as the Executive Director for the state’s largest law enforcement group, the Wisconsin Professional Police Association

In addition to serving on the governing boards for the Wisconsin Law Enforcement Accreditation Group and the Wisconsin Injured Law Enforcement Officers Resource Council, Jim also sits on the executive board of directors for the National Association of Police Organizations and the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund, Inc.

Board of Trustees

  • Chairperson: Ted Knoeck, Marathon County Deputy Sheriffs Supervisory Association 
  • Secretary: Nichelle Nelson, Waukesha Professional Police Association
  • Brian Barbour, Oneida County Deputy Sheriffs Association
  • Steve Bartels, Waukesha Professional Police Association
  • Garrett Carr, Wausau Professional Police Association
  • Jeffrey Darst, Superior Professional Police Association
  • Justin Greuel, Eau Claire Professional Police Association
  • Matthew Kuether, Appleton Professional Police Association
  • Dominic Meincke, Eau Claire Professional Police Association
  • Jeremy Rindfleisch, La Crosse Professional Police Association
  • Trevor Rud, Pepin County Deputy Sheriffs Association
  • Mica Weber, Dane County Deputy Sheriffs Supervisory Association

WI Law Enforcement Museum of Valor

660 John Nolen Drive, Suite 300
Madison, WI 53713

Your invaluable assistance will provide the critical funding needed to construct this one-of-a-kind institution, and to support our other charitable programs and scholarships.

Contributions to the Museum of Valor are tax-deductible.
FEIN 46-3247456